Why APC Postponed Screening Of Presidential Aspirants 

Austin Utuk vs Akanimo Udofia: Court Summons INEC, Winner Of Disputed A/Ibom APC Gov. Primary

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) might have postponed the screening of its presidential aspirants, initially scheduled for today, May 23 due to the party’s failure to constitute a screening committee, emerging reports say.

On Sunday, the ruling party for the umpteenth time adjusted its own timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 general elections.

READ ALSO:   Delta LG Chairman, Asekutu Bags National Outstanding Council Award

The National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Barr. Felix Morka in a statement announced the postponement of the screening of its presidential aspirants earlier slated for Monday, May 23 indefinitely.

Sources who understand the workings of the party said the screening was postponed because the party failed to constitute a Screening Committee that will oversee the exercise.

READ ALSO:   2023: Jonathan Congratulates Presidential Flagbearers, Urges Them To Shun Violence

Despite fixing May 23 for the screening exercise of its presidential aspirants, APC failed to put in place the necessary logistics that will aid the process.

The source said the postponement will give the ruling party more room to put everything in order and constitute the screening committee.

Another source in the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the APC, reportedly revealed that the party might hold the screening exercise on Tuesday.

READ ALSO:   BREAKING: Fresh Twist As APC Wins Imo North By-election Without Candidate

The New Diplomat reports that the ruling party is expected to screen a total of 25 presidential aspirants who had purchased and submiitted their expression of interest and nomination forms.

The aspirants contesting on the platform of the party are: Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osibanjo former Governor of Lagos State, Senator Bola Tinubu; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Senator Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu.

READ ALSO:   Why We Postponed Week 5 Games In Nigeria's Women League -- NWFL, Aisha Falode Speak

Others are: former Imo State Governor, Senator Rochas Okorocha; former Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River State Governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; Ebonyi State Governor, Dave Umahi; Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; former Minister of State, Education, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Senator Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa State Governor Abubakar Badaru; former Zamfara State governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima.

READ ALSO:   Tonto Dikeh Makes Shocking Revelation About Ex-boyfriend

The aspirants also include: Senator Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Mrs. Uju Kennedy; Pastor Nicholas Nwagbo; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Dimeji Bankole; Senate President, Dr. Ahmed Lawal; former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu and Mr. Tein Jack Rich.

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here