Osun: Seven Aspirants Withdraw From PDP Guber Primary


Seven out of 11 governorship aspirants of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the September 22 election on Saturday announced their withdrawal from the party’s primary.

The primary, which is to be held in Osogbo, has more than 3,000 delegates to participate in the exercise.

Those who announced their withdrawal from the race are Adejare Bello, former speaker of the State House of Assembly, Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Ayoade Adewopo, Lere Oyewumi and Felix Ogunwale.

READ ALSO:   Covid-19 R-Factor and Weak Links in Nigeria, By Oseloka H. Obaze

The aspirants said they stepped down from the race due to appeal from the party’s leadership and also to ensure cohesion within the party.

Other aspirants still in the race are Nurudeen Adeleke, representing Osun West at the Senate, former secretary to State Government Fatai Akinbade, Akin Ogunbiyi and Nathaniel Oke, a lawyer.

READ ALSO:   FIRS: Inside Details of How Fowler, Osinbajo-Tinubu's Man Was Dropped For Nami

Addressing the delegates, Gov. Seriake Dickson, who is the chairman of the primary, assured them of a free, fair and credible exercise.

Mr Dickson urged all the aspirants to support whosoever emerged as the winner of the primary.

Any aspirant who won the primary in PDP will contend with Gboyega Oyetola, who emerged as the state governorship candidate on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC).

READ ALSO:   Saraki Will Be Impeached, Oshiomhole Vows

Mr Oyetola, who is Gov. Aregbesola’s Chief of Staff, scored 127,017 votes to clinch the party’s ticket.


Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here