Anambra Guber: Full List As INEC Releases Revised Names Of Candidates


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday has released the final list of candidates to participate in the upcoming November 6 gubernatorial election in Anambra State.

According to the list, INEC has finally confirmed Valentine Ozigbo as the official flagbearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The electoral commission has also confirmed former Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria(CBN), Prof Chukwuma Charles Soludo, as the flagbearer of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

READ ALSO:   Buhari Okays New Governing Councils For UI, Four Others

Recall that the names of the duo were missing on the first list of candidates published by INEC. The commission had earlier published a sitting member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Chukwuma Michael Umeoji, as the flagbearer of the APGA in the upcoming polls, while the PDP’s slot was left blank.

READ ALSO:   Ogoni Clean-up: How FG Is Playing Politics With Exercise --Wike

But INEC in its latest list has now confirmed the names of Ozigbo and Soludo.

This was announced in a statement issued by INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Mr Festus Okoye.

The list of the names is also available on the official website of the electoral commission. The list has the names of candidates from 18 political parties, all males.

READ ALSO:   Lekki Shootings: Amnesty Int'l Accuses Nigerian Army Of Attempted Cover-up, Releases Timeline For Investigation

Also, Andy Uba and Ifeanyi Ubah remain the respective governorship candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Young Progressive Congress (YPP).

  • See full list of candidates

The statement reads, “In line with the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the election released on 19th January 2021, the Commission, has today, 7th October 2021 implemented two additional activities.

READ ALSO:   Minimum Wage Controversy: Why I Sponsored Bill -- Reps Member Breaks Silence

“The Final Register of Voters for the Anambra Governorship election was presented to the 18 registered political parties participating in the election at the headquarters of the commission in Awka.

“Furthermore, the Commission released the final list of Candidates for the election and has pasted same in the State office of the commission in Awka, Anambra State. The List has also been uploaded to the Commission’s website and social media platforms.”

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here