Alao Danbani Over The Moon As He Scoops SportsFlames/Kwara United Award


Kwara United striker Alao Danbani has bagged his first career award after he emerged winner of the SportsFlames/Kwara United player of the year for the 2021/2022 season.

The striker pulled a total 62.2% of the votes from the poll to beat (Midfielder) Afeez Noshiru, (Defender) Ayodeji Bamidele and (Striker) Samad Kadiri to emerge winner of award.

Chairman of Kwara United Kumbi Titiloye, ABS Ilorin FC Director Of football and Secretary NPFL club owners association Chief Alloy Chukwuemeka, Ace Sports Broadcaster (The Dean Of Sports) Bayour Issah alongside other football stakeholders in the state were all present during the award presentation held at the Kwara United secretariat inside the Kwara State Complex Stadium Ilorin on Monday 8th August 2022.

READ ALSO:   #USElection2020: Trump, Biden Open Up As Results Jangle Nerves

Alao Danbani becomes the third winner of SportsFlames Award after Onuwa Chukwuka who won the first edition and Adeyinka Najeem who won the second edition both at MFMFC while Alao Danbani becomes the first to win it with Kwara United.

Reacting after receiving the award, Alao Danbani stated that it was the first award in his career that it is an award he will forever cherish however thanking the Organisers for giving him something he would never forget in the future.

READ ALSO:   Breaking: Nigeria Records 35 New COVID-19 Cases

“This is the first award I would be receiving in my career, I am so happy because it is something to remember for the future, I want to as well thank the organisers for making this happen”, he said.

Also reacting was Olatoye Olawale, managing partner of SportsFlames Communications and General Manager SGFC Athletics Sports Club who rolled out the concept for the award.

READ ALSO:   US Supreme Court Rejects Texas' And Trump's Bid To Overturn Election

“It started in 2017 this was an idea we sat down to deliberate upon and we felt it would be nice that we reward players for their exceptional performance in the past”, He said.

“We started with MFM Football Club in 2017 and we had four nominees for the award with Chukwuka Onuwa emerging the winner of the first edition, we were supposed to have it the following season but due to the World Cup Russia 2018 the league was suspended we could not hold it and the following season again we had the coronavirus outbreak so we still could not hold it. But we came back stronger last season when Adeyinka Najeem won it and here again we are having it in Kwara United so we can say officially that we’ve done three editions.

READ ALSO:   To Fight Russia, Nigerian Volunteers Must Cough Out $1,000 -- Ukrainian Embassy

“We have a vision attached with a mission to always reach a destination so if we do anything we are not always surprised as much it may be we are always excited to see the players happy when you reward them for their individual brilliance”, he concluded.

Alao Danbani scored Nine goals in past season and helped Kwara United finish 4th on the NPFL log which has qualified them for a continental football next season.

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here