Speaker: Gbajabiamila wins APC primaries, Monguno emerges deputy


acn-2-620x330After three hours of voting, the outgoing Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila secured the nod of the All Progressives Congress (APC) members-elect to be the next Speaker.
He defeated Hon. Yakubu Dogara, who staged a walk-out with 18 members-elect.
Sensing danger, three of those who walked out later return to the venue of the shadow primaries.
The National Secretary of APC, Mallam Mai Mala Buni, said out of the 209 APC members-elect, 183 signed the attendance register, while 161 others voted at the straw poll, with about 22 others either abstaining or staging a walk-out.
Out of 161 votes, Gbajabiamila garnered 154 votes, Dogara got 3 and 4 votes were invalid.
On his part, Tahir Monguno scored 153 votes to emerge the sole candidate of the party for the position of Deputy Speaker.

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

Previous articleBuhari’s anti-corruption war takes off
Next articleG7 United Against ‘Russian Aggression’, to Focus on Jihadists
Hamilton Nwosa is an experienced, and committed communication, business, administrative, data and research specialist . His deep knowledge of the intersection between communication, business, data, and journalism are quite profound. His passion for professional excellence remains the guiding principle of his work, and in the course of his career spanning sectors such as administration, tourism, business management, communication and journalism, Hamilton has won key awards. He is a delightful writer, researcher and data analyst. He loves team-work, problem-solving, organizational management, communication strategy, and enjoys travelling. He can be reached at: [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here