Senate confirms Prof. Yakubu, 5 others as INEC chair, fed. commissioners


–Goes into closed door meeting ahead of ministerial confirmation

THE Senate has confirmed the nomination of Professor Mahmood Yakubu, as the chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The Senate also confirmed the nominations of five others as federal commissioners to represent the various geopolitical zones of the country.


Those confirmed as federal commissioner of the electoral umpire were Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo, Dr. Anthonia Taiye Okoosi Simbine, Mrs Amina Zakari, Dr. mohammed Mustapha Lecky and Mr Soyebi Adedeji Solomon.

The confirmation of their nominations came after they were successfully screened by the Red Chamber.

Meanwhile, ahead of the confirmation of ministerial nominees expected to begin any moment from now, the Senate has gone into a closed door meeting, where it is expected that some contending issues in the ministerial confirmation are to be tackled.

Recall that at the resumed sitting early today, Senate Deputy Minority Leader, Biodun Olujimi, raised a point of order, saying the report of the Senator Samuel Anyanwu report on petitions against the former Rivers State governor, Rotimi Amaechi, must be considered before going into the confirmation process.

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here