Portfolios of Buhari’s ministerial nominees leaked

new-diplomat default image
new-diplomat default image


President Muhammadu Buhari

At last, investigations by The New Diplomat Bureau in Abuja reveal an insight into the cabinet portfolios that the Ministerial nominees would be assigned by President Muhamadu Buhari. Though, there are expectations that a second batch of nominees are likely to be forwarded to the Senate next week, Presidency sources reveal that the portfolios to be assigned to the current twenty-one nominees show a mixed bag. Unless there is a last minute change of heart by the President, following pressures from some nominees including ex-Gov Rotimi Ameachi  who is worried that should he head the  Ministry of Niger Delta which Buhari has penciled him for, he would face too much challenges from militants in the Niger Delta region. Also there are indications that former two-term Senator and highly accomplished Private Sector Captain like Senator Udoma Udo Udoma who was speculated to have been penciled down for something else may be assigned to the Ministry of Trade and Investment or National Planning. ” Senator Udo Udoma is  a very big name. He is Chairman of UACN plc, Chairman of Union Bank Plc, Chairman of many public quoted companies and i think the presidency would want him to head Trade and Investment or National Planning. Initially, the thinking was that of drafting him to Culture and Tourism, to galvanize that sector because of his strength and integrity but that may have changed since last night.” The portfolios were left out of the first list of 21 nominees (a second list is still awaited) sent to the Senate last Friday and read on on the floor of the upper chamber by Senate President Bukola Saraki on Tuesday.

The composition is as follows;


1. Suleiman Adam – Jigawa (Labour and Productivity)

2. Udoma Udoma – Akwa Ibom (Trade and Investment).

3.Kayode Fayemi – Ekiti (Foreign Affairs}.

4.Chris Ngige – Anambra (Health)

5. Babatunde Fashola – Lagos (FCT)

6. Abdulrahman Danbazau (Defence)

7. Abubakar Malami (SAN) – Kebbi (Justice)

8. Ogbonaya Onu – Abia (Science and Technology)

9. Ibe Kachikwu – Delta (Petroleum and natural resources)

10. Kemi Adeosun – Ogun (Minister of State, Finance)

11. Lai Mohammed – Kwara (Information and Communication)

12. Sen Hadi Sirika – Katsina (Aviation)

13. Ahmed Isa Ibeto – Niger (Transportation)

14. Barr. Adebayo Shittu – Oyo (Works)

15.  Amina Mohammed – Kaduna (Finance)

16. Solomon Dalong – Plateau (Interior)


17. Aisha Alhassan – Taraba (Women Affairs)

18. Audu Ogbeh – Benue (Agriculture)

19. Osagie Ehanire – Edo (Water Resources and Solid Minerals)

20. Rotimi Amaechi – Rivers (Ministry of Niger Delta)

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here