Okada Ban: Lagos Govt Extends Directive To Four More LGAs

Okada Ban: Lagos Govt Extends Directive To Four More LGAs

Lagos State Government has announced its decision to extend the ban on motorcycle riders to four more Local Government Areas (LGAs).

This was confirmed by the Commissioner for Transport, Dr Frederic Oladeinde, on Thursday.

Oladeinde explained that the decision was taken after a review of the earlier ban on the operation of commercial motorcycles in six local councils.

READ ALSO:   Ikoyi Club Suspends Husband Of Africa's Richest Woman, Alakija For Assaulting Fellow Member

He also disclosed that Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has directed full enforcement of the Okada ban from September 1, 2022.

The additional councils where the total Okada ban is pronounced include Kosofe Local Government, Oshodi-Isolo Local Government, Shomolu Local Government, and Mushin Local Government.

Others are Ikosi-Isherri LCDA, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA, Isolo LCDA, Bariga LCDA, and Odi-Olowo LCDA.

READ ALSO:   At 69, Tinubu’s Influence Continues To Resonate -- Buhari, APC

It would be recalled that Sanwo-Olu had in May banned motorcycles on highways and six local governments and nine Local Council Development Areas.

The governor had hinged the ban on several complaints over the growing menace and nuisance constituted by Okada riders in the state.

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here