#LagosLGPolls: APC In Landslide Victory, PDP Bemoans Process

new-diplomat default image
new-diplomat default image

…As Lagosians Shun Poll Amidst Heavy Downpour

Early results from Saturday’s local government elections in Lagos showed that the All Progressives Congress (APC) was having an easy ride in all parts of the state.

The New Diplomat gathered that as at early Sunday morning, the party’s candidates had won the chairman position in Lagos Island LG, Badagry West LCDA, Epe LG, Eredo LCDA, Onigbongbo LCDA; Lagos Island East LCDA; Ikorodu LG, Ikorodu West LCDA; Badagry LG; and Ejigbo LCDA.

The early morning downpour and voter’s apathy had hampered the commencement of the election at 8am as proposed in the 20 local governments and 37 Local Council Developments Areas (LCDAs).

The rain and the attendant flood in parts of the state prevented electoral officials from reaching their duty posts on time.

Thus, accreditation and voting which were supposed to commence at 8am began much beyond the scheduled time and only when the rain subsided.

Besides, many registered voters chose to stay indoors as youths turned the roads to temporary football ‘pitches’.

READ ALSO:   BREAKING: Court Remands PDP Senator in prison over N805m Fraud

Some party officials attributed the low turnout to inadequate electoral awareness by the LASIEC, though the LASIEC Chairman Retired Justice Ayotunde Philips dismissed any such suggestion, saying adequate publicity was carried out.



She admitted that these was delay in the commencement of the elections in some areas, which said was caused by rain. She told reporters that the rain affected the movement of electoral materials.

“We are addressing the situation and we are assuring that everybody in the affected areas will vote once people have been accredited and are on the queue, they will be allowed to vote even after 3pm,” she said.

Expressing satisfaction with the peaceful conduct in most areas, Phillips said there were a few cases of violence but said security agents had quelled the situation.

Below are details of the announced results:

Lagos Island

Adetoyese Olusi (APC) 14,692
Yisa Ismail (PDP) 925
Kasumu Olanrewaju (LP) 1211

Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA

Atanda Lawal (APC) 7120
Samuel Akinwole (PDP) 756
Mohammed Jubril (LP) 542

Eredo LCDA

Rasal Saliu (APC) 10910
Kunle Ayantuga 737

READ ALSO:   Over 1,000 APC Members Dump Party In Akwa Ibom

Epe LG

Dayo Adesanya (APC) 21441
Omobibi (LP) 948

Lagos Island East

Kamal Olawale (APC) 9060
Adebayo Temitope (PDP) 1128

Onigbongbo LCDA

Hakeem Olayemi (Accord Party ) 842
Oke Babatunde (APC) 1631
Badagry West LCDA
Bello Joseph (APC) 5332
Setonji Ojugbele (PDP) 935

Ejigbo LCDA

Bello Oloyede (APC)4876
Akinlude (PDP) 179

Ikeja LG

Alabi Balogun (APC) 6191
Olowolagba Omolara (PDP) 990

Badagry LG

APC 3990

Accord 1597

Ojokoro Ward-A

APC: 1,351
PDP: 156
APC: 1,351
PDP: 156

Ojokoro Ward-B

APC: 912
PDP: 169
APC: 880
PDP: 172

Ojokoro Ward-C

APC: 1,786
PDP: 178
LP: 085
APC: 1,757
PDP: 196
LP: 070

Ojokoro Ward-D


APC: 1,380
PDP: 133
APC: 1,432
PDP: 151

Ojokoro Ward-E

APC: 2,080
PDP: 333
APC: 2,060
PDP: 040

Ojokoro Ward-F

APC: 1,233
PDP: 119
APC: 1,205
PDP: 129

Ojokoro Ward-G

APC: 978
PDP: 152
LP: 082
AA: 04
APC: 981
PDP: 130
LP: 088
AA: 05

READ ALSO:   Hundreds Declare For APC In Ughelli North LGA


Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has reacted to the outcome of the election, attributing the party’s loss in the election to late arrival of voting materials in many parts of the state.

A PDP Chieftain, Segun Adewale blamed LASIEC for ‘disappointing’ Lagosians. He said the late arrival of voting materials discouraged some people from voting after waiting for hours at the polling station for voting materials to come.

He also accused supporters of the ruling APC of harassing people.

“People were harassed by members of the ruling APC, my own sister was beaten up and people could not vote before the end of the exercise,” he claimed.

Twelve parties – Accord Party (AP); Action Alliance (AA); Alliance for Democracy ( AD ); All Progressives Congress ( APC ); Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP ); Labour Party ( LP ); All Progressives Grand Alliance ( APGA ); United Democratic Party (UDP); United Progressive Party (UPP); Kowa Party ( KP ); National Action Council ( NAC ); and Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM).

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

Previous articleMuslim Pilgrims Board: Wike Appoints Mustapha Jackreece As Sole Administrator
Next articleManchester City Signs Danilo From Real Madrid
Hamilton Nwosa

The New Diplomat stands for ethical journalism, press freedom, accountable republic, and gender-equity. That is why at The New Diplomat, we are committed to speaking truth to power, fostering a robust community of responsible journalism, and using high quality polls, data, and surveys to engage the public with compelling narratives about political, business, socio-economic, environmental, and situational dynamics in Nigeria, Africa, and globally. From our insightful reports of political issues to our riveting investigations and analyses of business, socio-economic, and cross-cutting sectors, The New Diplomat remains ever committed to investigative reporting and ethical journalism. Support and partner with The New Diplomat today, to guarantee a positive future for all under an atmosphere of free press!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here