Breaking! Oyebanji Wins Ekiti Guber Election


The governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Biodun Oyebanji has emerged victorious in the Ekiti state gubernatorial election.

He was declared winner of the governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC). Oyebanji polled a total of 187,057 votes to defeat his two closest challengers, Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Bisi Kolawole of the People’s Democratic Party.

READ ALSO:   Why APC Postponed Screening Of Presidential Aspirants 

Oni who emerged second in the election polled a total votes of 82,211, while the Kolawole of the PDP came third with 67,457 votes.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof Kayode Adebowale, who is the Vice Chancellor, the University of Ibadan, announced the results.

“Oyebanji, having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the governor-elect of Ekiti State,” Adebowale declared.

READ ALSO:   2023: Kwankwaso-Obi Merger Floated Again As Thirdforce Seeks To Unseat APC, PDP

Oyebanji is now set to replace incumbent Kayode Fayemi in October.

Prior to the election, INEC had revealed that Ekiti state has 988,923 registered voters. Out the total number of registered voters only 749,065 voters had collected their Permanent Voters Cards (PVC) as of Monday.

However, only 363,438 voters were accredited. The total valid votes in the election were 351,865, void votes, 8,888 and total votes cast, 360,753.

READ ALSO:   What We Learnt From Late Alaafin – Traditionalists

The polls officially opened at around 8:30am (WAT) on Saturday and was expected to close at 2:30 pm (WAT).

Below is the final result:

A: 166 votes

AAC: 409 votes

ADC: 5,597 votes

ADP: 3,495 votes

APC: 187,057 votes

APGA: 376 votes

APM: 290 votes

APP: 1,980 votes

LP: 195 votes

READ ALSO:   Why It's Risky, Costly Picking Your Successor -- APC's NWC Member Tells Buhari

NNPP: 529 votes

NRM:347 votes

PDP: 67,457 votes

PRP: 856 votes

SDP: 82,211 votes

YPP: 618 votes

ZLP: 282 votes

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here