Just In: 14 Ondo Lawmakers Sign Impeachment Notice Against Akeredolu’s Deputy

  • As Ajayi Files Suit To Stop Move

The Ondo State House of Assembly has served a notice of impeachment on the Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi amid heavy security presence around the assembly building.

14 of the 26 members of the Assembly signed the notice on Tuesday, while nine voted against the decision.

Ajayi has been in running battle with the Governor of the State, Rotimi Akeredolu and had defected to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

As a counter-reaction to the impeachment move, Ajayi on Tuesday, rushed to an Abuja High Court where he filed a suit seeking to stop the impeachment proceeding and enforced his fundamental right of association.

Defendants in the suit include the Inspector General of Police, State Commissioner Of Police, Department of State Services (DSS) and the Speaker of the Assembly, Mr David Oleyeloogun.

Previous articleArsenal’s Home Kit For Next Season Leaks Online
Next articleBreaking: Buhari Suspends EFCC Boss, Magu
'Dotun Akintomide's journalism works intersect business, environment, politics and developmental issues. Among a number of local and international publications, his work has appeared in the New York Times. He's a winner of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) Award. Currently, the Online Editor at The New Diplomat, Akintomide has produced reports that uniquely spoke to Nigeria's experience on Climate Change issues. When Akintomide is not writing, volunteering or working on a media project, you can find him seeing beautiful sites like the sandy beaches that bedecked the Lagos coastline.

Leave a Reply